Bens win “Best Behavior Team” at Cricket Awards 2010/11
Posted by DARREL LUDOWYKE on September 28 2011 00:45:15
In sports, it’s not the winning or losing that matters but how one played the game. Discipline is an important ingredient in sports. It was in 2008 that ICC Chief Match Referee and former Sri Lanka Captain Ranjan Madugalle suggested to present a special award for fair play in school cricket. St. Benedict’s College was adjudged the “Best Behavior Team” All Island, at the 33rd Observer – Mobitel Schoolboy Cricketer of the Year 2010/11 awards ceremony held at the Galadari Hotel on 26th September 2011.
The Team received the Trophy plus a cash award of Rs. 20,000/-. The MIC and coach also received special awards.

Wicket-keeper Batsman Rukshan Weerasinghe, who scored over 900 runs last season with an average of 57 runs, was shortlisted for the Best Batsman and Best Fielder award, whiles Eranga Rathnayake with 700 Runs and 60 Wickets was shortlisted for the Best Fielder and Best All-rounder award, in the All-Island category respectively.

We congratulate Rev. Bro. Director, Master in Charge, Coach and the winning team on this great achievement which is a testimony of the high standards of discipline maintained at St. Benedict’s College.

Here ANCL Chairman and Managing Director Bandula Padmakumara handing over the trophy to St Benedict’s captain Varuna Fernando.