St. Peterís win, Bens Double Wicket Tournament
Posted by DARREL LUDOWYKE on April 28 2015 01:12:41
St. Peterís College defeated St. Sebastianís College in the finals to emerge champions of the schools invitation double wicket tournament played at St. Benedictís College grounds during the weekend. (25th& 26th April) The tournament was organised as part of the celebrations to mark the Sesquicentennial Year (1865-2015) of St. Benedictís College.

Distinguished Old Ben, Felix Dias (Cricket Captain 1965 & 1966) graced the occasion as chief guest and distributed the awards to the winners, whiles former Sri Lanka Cricket Captain and Thomian Cricketer, Michael Tissera presided as the guest of honour. The finals were worked off in front of a distinguished gathering of old boys including Rev. Fr. Trevor Martin (Present RectorSt. Peterís College), Rev. Bro. Denzil Perera (Provincial Visitor of the De La Salle community), Rev. Bro. Bro. Janaka Fonseka (Director of St. Benedictís College), De La Salle Brothers, past cricketers of St. Benedictís College and also past Sri Lanka national cricketers Anura Tennakoon and Roger Wijesuriya to name a few.

The Peterite pair, Chandula Jayamanne and Dineth Thimodya made 37 runs and restricted St. Sebastianís pair, Avishka Fernando and Mishen Fernando to a score of 27 in the finals.

Earlier in the day, St. Peterís College beat St. Benedictís College in the quarter finals and St. Thomasí College in the semi finals whiles St. Sebastianís College beat Zahira College in the quarter finals and De Mazenod College in the semi finals.

Dineth Thimodya of St. Peterís Collegewas adjudged the best batsman while Avishka Fernando of St. Sebastianís College and Thilan Kavisha of Moratu MV were adjudged best bowler and fielder respectively.

The event sponsored by Access Group, Singer, Mobil, McFoil, CIMA and Phoenix was organised by the Old Bens Sports Club and the Cricket Wing.