Posted by DARREL LUDOWYKE on January 13 2013 14:52:10

Old Bens led by J.A.Priyantha emerged Division III champions at the finals conducted by the Colombo District cricket Association, defeating Moratuwa University by 8 wkts at the SSC grounds today. (13th January 2013).

Bens reached their target of 126 set by Moratuwa University for the loss of 2 wkts, with Sameera Sandamal scoring an elegant 52 n.o., which earned him the man of the match award.

Moratuwa University: 126 for all out in 43 overs (J. A. Priyantha 1/15, Dilan Anjelo 3/20, Yohan Soyza 2/23, Eranga Rathnayake 2/17 and Jason Perera 1/17)

Old Bens SC: 132 for 2 wkts in 35 overs (Thilina Silva 23, Jason Perera 23, Eranga Rathnayake 26 not out and Sameera Sandamal 52 not out.

Our heartfelt congratulations to the team for their achievement.